GCSE Photography Handbook

GCSE Photography Handbook Cover

My school are introducing AQA GCSE Photography in September so this summer I have been busy creating resources to get it of an running.

I give all my GCSE Art and Design Students a handbook which has items like the course structure, project titles and overviews, the Assessment Objectives and Grade guidance and I have found this toΒ be both helpful for the students and parents. So I decided to do a little tweaking and adapt this for my new Photography students.

Click for the PDF version:
GSCE Photography Handbook

If you would like the original Pages version please drop me a message in the comments section of this post and I will email you over a copy as WordPress will not let me upload this file type.

25 thoughts on “GCSE Photography Handbook

  1. This could not have come at a better time as I am considering starting up a GCSE photography course, what were your start up key items and any good websites to offer (apart from yours!) please?

  2. This is very impressive- i will be following your lead and making similar handbooks also!
    Would it be possible to get an editable copy of the handbook?
    I have been doing gcse photography here for 2 years now, so if you have any questions please feel free to ask!

    Thanks in advance. πŸ™‚

  3. Hi, this is great as I have just started teaching this in a small school and would be great if I could also have this book. Great work!!

  4. Hi my school is starting a GCSE photography this September and this handbook looks great! Would it be possible to send me the handbook so can edit my own version?

    Thanks in advance.

    • Hi Jennifer
      I have sent you over a word copy which should be OK! Hope all goes well with the start of your course and check back for updates to the blog as I will be updating it over time with various photography bits and pieces.

  5. Hi, Please could I have an editable copy of this handout. This is a really pupil friendly intro to their studies. We have just started Photography GCSE after a few years ago so would appreciate any fresh ideas. Many Thanks

  6. Fantastic resource. Would love a copy of the original to pass onto my students. Would be great as I can’t open pdf’s at school anymore (IT issues). Fantastic work again. Great resource

  7. Hi, my school have just introduced photography starting September 2017. I just wondered if you had anything at all that would help me as I am totally starting from scratch and have been left to get on with it! Your handbook idea sounds brilliant.
    Don’t worry if you can’t help me.
    Thanks
    Lyndsey

    • Hi Lyndsey
      Have you been across to my Photography department website: http://pcornel4.wixsite.com/canburyphotodept I have put a lot of my resources on this website for people to download.
      How I run the course is by having a short introduction project at the start of the course to get students familiar with a DSLR camera and the basic photographic skills they will need (search The Basics on this blog to find the SOW), I then run a mini project based on bring inanimate objects alive through photography (search Alive on this blog to find the SOW), from this we work on a project based on local architecture (I will be uploading this SOW over the upcoming half term so look out for this) and then I run a project based on Strange and Distorted images. These are all run in year 10, then I run a mock exam based on themes from past papers in the Autumn term of year 11. In January we start the prep work for the exam.
      Do let me know if you would like more details on anything you see on my website or otherwise!
      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

